Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Happiness is all the age*

11 Comments

Best Five Ages in Your Life and Why

Wow, tough topic this week at Paper Hangover.  I cheated a little because some were more like “periods” in my life and they spanned more than one age.

5/6

I feel like this period is really where my personality solidified.  I’m a bit of a worrier.  And maybe a *cough* control freak.  I like to think of it as “protectiveness.”

In both kindergarten and first grade, I went the first few days of school, said, “That’s nice,” then insisted I stay home and take care of my mom.  It wasn’t that I didn’t like school, I honestly thought my mom couldn’t cope without me.

This is also along the same lines of my retellings of Hansel and Gretel where I continually had to save my older bro because he obviously couldn’t do it himself.

13/14

More personality solidifying.  Most of the music I like now came from discovering it back then.  The Beatles, CCR, Bob Dylan, etc.  It didn’t hurt that my dad had a killer record collection.  I also fully immersed myself in this new “grunge” sound.  I owned SO MUCH flannel.

17/18 (senior year)

Much like at age 5, I had a superiority complex.  I was positive my friends and I RULED.  I had a long-haired boyfriend (now short-haired hubby), Saturday nights out with my girls, an independent study project which meant I did a lot of nothing, and every other day I got to leave school early because I only needed five classes to graduate so of course I did the minimum.

21/22

This was one of the best and worst times of my life.  Won’t get into the latter, but the former was my teen rebellion extended, only with less wildness.  I had the most awesome job with the greatest people ever (I worked with a BFF and I was allowed to wear slippers to work).  I went to concerts almost every night and somehow thrived on just a few hours a sleep a night and a handful of Chex Mix.  Looking back on that time  period makes me want to nap.

30+

My life is like a Dickens’ novel.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times

No matter what all has happened the last few years, the best decision I ever made was quitting my full-time job, taking up contract work and  getting serious about writing.  Even when I’m frustrated and believe I’m the worst writer hack to have ever walked the earth, I still know that THIS, my life right now, is the way it’s supposed to be.

*Yeah, I totally ripped off this song title, which I would never even know if it weren’t for the 21/22 time period, my work BFF LOVED her some Promise Ring:

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

11 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Happiness is all the age*

  1. This topic *is* hard. I’ve been thinking about it for several days and am still failing.

  2. Such a cool, thought-provoking topic. I loved being 5 and 13, too. 14-15, eh, not so much.
    Do you notice a connection between the ages of characters you write about and your best ages? I tend to pick protagonists at my “difficult” ages. (Catharsis, anyone?)

  3. The Dickens quote pretty much sums up a number of mine too! I enjoyed reading about your best years 🙂

  4. “I’m a bit of a worrier. And maybe a *cough* control freak.”

    Uh, me too. Glad I’m in good company. 🙂

    Isn’t it fun to look back and appreciate your early twenties, yet never, ever want to revisit them? Great post, Jennifer!

  5. “Control freak”? “Superiority complex”? How about a natural nurturer and leader. 🙂 Good stories.

  6. Great ages. 30+ is pretty great. I think I’m still relieved my 20’s are over.

  7. I tried to leave kindergarten, and school in general every year after that, but my parents wouldn’t have any of it. I thought (and still hold true to that thought) that I could have homeschooled myself much better than my teachers could actually teach me.

  8. I don’t even know where to start, so I guess I’ll go most important thing first: I LOVE CCR!! 🙂

    I did basically the same thing when my job was “re-designated” and I was offered a job higher up in my company, I just thought, “This is an opportunity to do what you love” so I said no and figured out what I had to do to finish school and make writing my first priority. I have a lot of moments when I shake my fist at the ceiling and wonder what I’m doing but I think it’s worth it. 🙂

    In kindergarten I started protesting how wrong it was that I had to go to school five days a week. Little did I know how much time I’d end up spending in school.

Leave a Reply

