Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Teen movies – quintessential scenes – bizarre declarations of love

8 Comments

So last week I promised to explore the strange phenomenon of the every guy winning the hot girl.  I mentioned “I Love You, Beth Cooper,” and “Can’t Hardly Wait” as two examples.  Here are a two more:

Eight Days a Week

Guy camps out on his crush’s lawn for the summer, which is apparently sweet and not at all stalkerish, she begins to expect him there, there’s a funny grandpa, a cougar that works out with the blinds open, a best friend into bizarre sex experiments…the more I type about this movie the more disturbing it sounds.

Can’t Buy Me Love

Before he was McDreamy, he was this nerdy guy who wanted to be cool so he pays the hot chick to pretend to be his girlfriend which apparently is NOT prostitution, stuff happens, he acts dicky, he apologizes by riding up on a lawn mower.

Side note: I hate this movie.  It gives me that uncomfortable feeling I get when I see amateur comedians bombing on stage and I feel like I have to laugh to break the tension.

To be fair, there are movies where the “You Are Awesome” scene is actually sweet.  Although I wonder how I would have reacted.

Say Anything

I haven’t seen this movie in years, can’t remember anything but the boombox scene which is actually hella romantic.

My reaction: “Stop it, my dad is pissed!  Ugh, you’re so lame!”  slams window shut

Sixteen Candles

This is an every girl winning the hot guy scenario (go, Molly Ringwald!), Jake Ryan is totally keen on the fact she’d like to have sex with him, hurray for intercepting notes in class.

My reaction to Jake’s “yeah you” at the end:  Blushes, hides behind bush

So what about you all? What’s your favorite declaration scene???

Next week: Dances.  These rarely go off without a hitch.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

8 thoughts on “Teen movies – quintessential scenes – bizarre declarations of love

  1. I have tried so many times to watch Can’t Buy Me Love and like it, and every time I fail. I can’t remember if there was a declaration scene in Can’t Hardly Wait, but I liked that one.
    (What is it with teen movies and negative contractions in the titles?)

  2. I love the scene in Say Anything. Like, I was smiling as you talked about it.

    Another good declaration scene, even though he’s still being paid to take her out at the time, is in 10 Things I Hate About You when Patrick serenades Kat. It’s probably the best scene ever created.

  3. Awww – so sad. I love Can’t Buy Me Love – way before McDreamy became dreamy! And LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Sixteen Candles!!!

    Okay, so it’s not a super love declaration thing, but I love Easy A for Olive’s dedication to love declaration scenes. I could watch that movie a million times over.

  4. 16 Candles just can’t be beat. But maybe that’s because I’m a long way from my teens and it’s the only one I can remember. Plus my mom rented it for me when I was 14, even though it was rated R and I wasn’t allowed to watch those. That was hell-a cool.

  5. I don’t know if this is a declaration scene, and it’s not really in the genre you’re describing here, but I love the scene at the end of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” when Paul (“can I call you Fred?”) Varjak leaves the cab and basically reads the riot act to Holly, telling her that wherever she goes, she will always run into herself. That’s the moment he wins her love.

    I’ve never seen 16 Candles. Maybe I should put that on my Netflix cue…

Leave a Reply

