Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Favorite Childhood Books

13 Comments

1. Three by the Sea by Edward Marshall, pictures by James Marshall

My older bro and I LOVED this book when we were kids.  Our mom took us to the library and we’d check it out pretty much every time.  As adults, my bro even bought me a copy (<3 my bro).  It’s snarky and clever with a great twist ending.

2. Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss

Firstly, the book is orange.  Who doesn’t like an orange book?  Oddly enough, I was always a bit peeved at the ending, when the grump decides to…

[SPOILER ALERT!]

…like green eggs and ham.  I actually enjoyed reading about someone disagreeable.  My husband would say it was because I’m disagreeable.  I disagree with that.

3. Hansel and Gretel by…The Grimm Brothers?

Honestly, I’m not sure which version I had when I was a kid.  But I knew this story front to back, and my father was patient enough to sit through my millions of retellings.  Usually I was the hero and I had to save my hapless older brother.

4. Captain Kitty by Godfrey Lynn, illustrated by Elizabeth Webbe

Just the title alone makes me go…AWWW!  Same with the picture on the front cover.  And pretty much every word/pic inside.  This is my battered worn copy, LOOK at the price!

5. The Cat Ate My Gymsuit by Paula Danzinger

This is my actual copy, note the price, I wish MG/YA still only cost $2.95.  I want to say my dad bought this for me (go, dad!) as a sort of GIRL POWER thing.  Maybe because I was tall in elementary school, towering over my fourth grade classmates at 5’2” and outweighing them at a whopping 100 lbs.  Then a funny thing happened.  I stopped growing.  Yes, that’s right, I’ve been the same size since I was 10 (plus a few extra lbs adulthood added).  I went from the biggest kid to the shrimp.  Oh well.

Honorable mention:

Little Miss Bossy by Roger Hargreaves

When everyone in my family suggested I read this, I started to get suspicious.  The ending made me mad because I enjoyed her bossiness.  I didn’t want to learn a lesson, damnit!  As an adult, my mom bought me another copy of this book.  Guess they’re all still trying to tell me something.

Come join the fun at Paper Hangover!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

13 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Favorite Childhood Books

  1. I can’t believe I forgot Green Eggs and Ham. Great list!

  2. I totally forgot about The Cat Ate My Gymsuit. Such a great book. Good choices.

  3. I really don’t think I ever read Dr. Seuss as a kid. I read it when I babysat, but that’s all. I did read Paula Danziger though.

  4. I had totally forgotten about THE CAT ATE MY GYMSUIT! Loved that book.
    Your spoiler alert for GREEN EGGS AND HAM had me snorting my coffee. 🙂

  5. I had a Paula Danziger book on my list too (This Place Has No Atmosphere)! Dr. Seuss seems to be a favourite on different lists, and it’s no wonder – he’s awesome! Great list 🙂

  6. I love Green Eggs and Ham – I used to read that to my high school students to get them motivated to do word problems. Didn’t work, but I enjoyed the read. 🙂

    Awesome choices! Have a great weekend!

  7. I’m with Alicia–I don’t think I ever read any Dr. Seuss growing up. I made up for that with my kids, though. And I think the first Mr. Men book my mum bought me was Mr. Sneeze. Not sure if I should read anything into that… 🙂

  8. Loved Green Eggs and Ham. Our class even did a special green eggs and ham day, back when doing something like that in class didn’t scare people. 🙂

  9. Can’t go wrong with Dr. Seuss! And Hansel and Gretel was (IS!) one of my favorite fairy tales. Great choices!

  10. Mine was always Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs. I was reading it to my kids WAY before the animated version came out. I felt so cool!

  11. My favorite Dr. Seuss book when I was little was Are You My Mother? I read that book over and over again, or I guess my mom did. Then I got into The Baby-Sitters Club and I was done for. I haven’t put books down since. 🙂

    Have you read Sweetly by Jackson Pearce? It’s a modernization of Hansel and Gretel. I haven’t read it yet, but it popped in my head when I read your post.

Leave a Reply

