Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Second Platform Challenge – The imago is not a deer, a female deer

49 Comments

It’s time for another challenge and here are the guidelines:

Write a blog post in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, whether flash fiction, non-fiction, humorous blog musings, poem, etc. The blog post should:

  • include the word “imago” in the title
  • include the following 4 random words: “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,”

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional and included in the word count), make reference to a mirror in your post.

For those who want an even greater challenge (optional), make your post 200 words EXACTLY!

I immediately thought of The Sound of Music.  Naturally.  Singing nuns, handsome captains, running from Nazis…

So many similarities, where do I even begin?

With a song!

###

Voiceover:

If you close your eyes and think hard enough, well, I’ll still in no way resemble Fraulein Maria.  I don’t have melodious children to back me up  on this song, but I will skip through my apartment, pretending to climb every mountain.

So let’s do this!

(Set to the tune of Do-Re-Mi)

Imago, an image, or win-ged insect

Miasma, a smell that I reject

Lacuna, a space, a big ol’ gap

Oscitate, I think I need a nap

Synchronicity, this word is just too big…

La, I break into a jig

Crap, I’m running out of steam!

And that brings us back to

Oh

A bug

A bug is gross

Damn, my word counts not even close

A mirror, a shiny mirror

Rawr, I’m singing my way nearer!

See, I knew this song would work…

Hey, my dancing’s gone berserk

Tea, I don’t need more caffeine!

And that brings us back to…

No

I won’t

Sing anymore

Hey, this actually was fun

Whee, I think I’m really done

Far, I’m running through the street

Lo, my song will be complete…

Hah, I’m splashing through a stream

See, I’m running to the top!

And that brings us back to…

I-mag-o

###

Here’s a clip from the movie, I picked this one because almost everyone is there.  Note, I am awful at names, so even after dozens of times watching, the children still remain:

Oldest girl, boy, other boy who is incorrigible, little girl, girl who sings the goat song, other two random girls I only remembered because they are
in this scene

Plus, there’s Maria, the Cap’n, Mustached Guy, Blondie

And Rolfe, whose name is ingrained in my memory because he is a traitor.

With that, so long and farewell!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

49 thoughts on “Second Platform Challenge – The imago is not a deer, a female deer

  1. Now THAT’S a first! I actually sang the tune in my head 🙂 Definitely put a smile on my face. (I’m #44)

  2. That’s really cute! How clever and original. I wrote a confession that I can’t really write at all. See mine at number 62, I hope you like it as well as I like yours.

  3. That was awesome. You should get something for making lyrics out of those words.

  4. Ha! That was clever and unique. 😀 I loved it!

  5. LOL! My dad’s name is Rolf (he’s Norwegian) he got some jabs after this movie came out, but he took it in stride 🙂

  6. Just so you know (and this will make you sad) – I am not a Sound of Music fan. At all. But this post is changing that! Like I’m actually okay with having the do-re-mi song stuck in my head for the next few hours.

    Seriously – what an amazing entry! LOVED IT!!!

    • Say it ain’t so!!! I actually didn’t realize how much I liked the movie until I found myself watching it every time it came on TV. I think it’s because it reminds me of being a kid and watching it with my mom

  7. Amazing! I love it!
    I was kind of obsessed with Liesl as a kid, so that name is forever with me. “I am sixteen going on seventeen. . . .”

  8. You made me laugh! You get my vote/1
    Fairview

  9. That’s so clever! I thoroughly enjoyed it! mine is #29

  10. Ha! I could actually hear the song and someone singing it in my head. Not me, because I can’t sing.

  11. Wow! What a fun and original idea! Great way to attack the challenge!

    Mins is #3.

  12. That was fun! And totally unique.

    I am amazed at the variety there is in this challenge.

  13. That was a lot of fun to read (and sing along to in my head, yes I heard the music). Nice job 🙂

  14. Hooray I loved it! Lots of fun.

  15. I like the spunk in this one, very funny, and i totally sang this song in my head. How can you go wrong when the hills are alive with the sound of myoooo-zik?

  16. Hehehe! You have me smiling. I can go to bed now and laugh in my dreams. So funny! I loved it the most. You have my vote. Check #76. I had fun learning new words. You expressed how most of us probably felt before we took on the task. I just loved it. Thanks for the laugh.

  17. Oh wow. I’m laughing so hard right now. Thanks for the chuckle. You made my day.

    Heading over to vote right now! 🙂

  18. Very cleverly done. I was singing along in my head and you seemed to have had fun doing it! Bravo!

  19. What a creative way to meet the challenge. Great entry!

  20. Lol! I could just imagine Johnny D. as the Mad Hatter singing this song while dancing! You def made me smile! ; )

  21. So fun! Great job on that. I sang the whole thing with a smile on my face. Very creative!

    The Write Soil

    My entry is #50.

  22. How creative, Jennifer, to do a song. And I sang it in my head. Great job. 🙂

  23. Great Job on creating a song! 🙂

  24. lol, i listened to this with a karaoke version.
    It makes me want to do make a tune for a pop-rocky version.
    Nice innovation, wasn’t an expected post.
    bi.

  25. This really is a great entry! Wonderful!

  26. Definite love! I sang it in my head as I read it! 😀

  27. This had me laughing the whole way through. Awesome awesome!

    Great job, Jennifer! 🙂

  28. This is so interesting to me because I have a hard time keeping comments under 200 words, much less a story! haha! This might be a sign that I should try it though…

  29. Is it sad that I DO know all the names of the kids? Loved your song! BTW, glad you saw my post with the award. Have a great week!

  30. Oh, how I adore The Sound of Music! I love your humorous take on this… I can almost picture you typing away to the rhythm of the song. 🙂

  31. That was so much fun! How clever of you to do it in song. Bravo!

  32. I wrote poetry, but you did LYRICS! My goodness, that’s good. ; )

  33. Brilliant!! I’m going to be humming that tune all day 🙂

  34. What a fantastic idea! I am very impressed and sang along with you all the way 🙂

  35. How fun, very clever, fine writing and usage of words.

    I loved this! The Sound of Music is an old favorite of mine.

    Thank you, for sharing. I’m with Raelyn, I’ll be humming this tune all day.

    #188

  36. What a unique way of doing the challenge and it sounds like you had a lot of fun doing it!! Great job!

    #189

Leave a Reply

