Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Writing Meme

9 Comments

One of my awesome betas, Brandy Shockley, posted a writing meme on her blog last week and it looked fun, so here are my answers:

What’s your favorite genre of writing?

I love to write contemp, usually YA, but I also have women’s fiction full of angsty 20-somethings

How often do you get writer’s block?

Not sure I ever really have. I’ll sometimes hit a wall with certain WIPs, but I take that to mean I need to let it stew while I work on something else.

How do you fix it?

See above

Do you type or write by hand?

I scribble notes sometimes, but usually I peck out novels on my laptop.

Do you save everything you write?

YES. I have this huge file each time I edit a draft and it’s called “[TITLE] cut and paste.”

Do you ever go back to an old idea long after you abandoned it?

Yep. I wrote for years and years before I became serious about it, so I’ve got tons of old drafts floating around.

Do you have a constructive critic?

Most definitely

Did you ever write a novel?

Several

What genre would you love to write but haven’t?

I’ve got this half-finished high fantasy book that has me completely lost. I like the characters and the world I built, but the plot is a big bunch of iffy.

What’s one genre you have never written, and probably never will?

Inspirational

How many writing projects are you working on right now?

I’m editing one and writing on another

Do you write for a living? Do you want to?

No and Yes

Have you ever written something for a magazine or newspaper?

Newspaper, yes

Have you ever won an award for your writing?

When I was a kid

Do you ever write based on your dreams?

I tried to write a horrorish/sci-fi story based on a nightmare I had once, but it never turned into anything.  I’m more likely to dream about plot points for my current writing quandries.

Do you favor happy endings, sad endings, or cliff-hangers?

Depends, I guess. I’m not a big fan of cliffhangers, although I see the point of them. Book doesn’t have to have a happy ending because life doesn’t always end happily.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

9 thoughts on “Writing Meme

  1. Great interview! I cut things and save them into a giant cut and paste file, too.

  2. I have a half-finished women’s fiction with a fantasy element–a total departure from pretty much everything else I’ve written. It taunts me. I would love to finish it at some point.

  3. This was great. We have a lot of similarities.

  4. What a fun little meme! I agree with the happy endings bit. I’m a fan of bittersweet endings–happiness, but not without some kind of sacrifice.

  5. bravo Jennifer! would like to read some of your stories at somepoint!! feel free to send something. looking forward to seeing you guys soon,

    iM aka Gentleman Bronco

  6. Pingback: Writing meme!

Leave a Reply

