Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW: I wonder, wonder what Ned would have been like as a teen

9 Comments

I am capital-L LOVING the YA Highway Road Trip Q this week:

What non-YA character would you love to see star in a YA book as themselves?

^ Ned from Pushing Daisies (source)

Oh, Ned, you and your little gift of bringing dead people back to life…

If only you and Charlotte “Chuck” Charles had been able to have a sweet little romance as teens.  As adults, you are angsty and heart-breaking and wonderful, but your teen selves???  Gah, I can’t even imagine how wonderfully quirky you would be, baking pies in her aunt’s kitchen while she flitted around outside after honeybees.

And speaking of Ned’s portrayer, Lee Pace, he also played Aaron Tyler (Wonderfalls) and I would not be the least upset to see Aaron pop up in a book.

(source)

Smart, neurotic, suspicious, and sharp-witted.  Not to mention cute.  Yes, please!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

9 thoughts on “RTW: I wonder, wonder what Ned would have been like as a teen

  1. Oooh, he’s dreamy! I have not seen these shows, but I’ve seen them mentioned again and again on blogs as great ones that were cancelled too early. i’ll have to check them out!

  2. Those are both shows I know I would love, but haven’t gotten to yet. I think it’s time to update my Netflix!

  3. This is a very cool idea! I’ve only seen 3 episodes of this show (and I love it’s quirkiness) I agree with you. These characters would be amazing as teens!

  4. Oh Pushing Daisies. I loved that show. Such a quirky and original idea. Hmmm…I wonder?

  5. Yes, you guys, definitely check them out – and while you’re at it, Freaks and Geeks, too…hah, I’ll push all my faves on you 🙂

  6. I hear a lot of people talking about Pushing Daisies, but I still haven’t seen it!

  7. I have yet to watch this show! But he is adorable!

    Great choice!

  8. OMG, that would be so adorable! I loved that show, and their romance KILLED me. The plastic wrap kisses and yearning without any possibility for real resolution–amazing. Young Ned and young Charlotte would be so delightful to read about. Quirky and (mostly) undamaged. Someone needs to write this.

Leave a Reply

