Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Titles that are awesome-o

21 Comments

For this question, I brought up my TBR list, which may or may not be MASSIVE.

1. The Patterns of Paper Monsters by Emma Rathbone – Even before I read the description for this book, I wanted to read it based on the title.  I pictured a darkened room and a child lying in bed with a flashlight as shadows crept across the walls.  There’s something sort of spooky about it, too.  The monsters are made out of paper, but they’re still monsters.

2. How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford – This doesn’t even need an explanation.  Robots.  Robot Language.  ‘Nuff said.  (note: I know the book isn’t really about robots)

3. The Sweetness of Salt by Cecilia Galante – this title sounds so poetic to me, but it rankles my sometimes overly logical mind.  “Salt isn’t sweet!” it screams.  I want to read the book and find the reason for the sweetness.

4. The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery – this one gets to me like #3.  “What is so elegant about a hedgehog?  I must know!”  (see, I really do take everything way too literally at times)

5. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan – the whole idea of a forest like this freaks me out.

And because I can’t pick just five, here’s an extra one:

Motherless Brooklyn by Jonathan Lethem – This title actually makes me sad because I picture the entire borough of Brooklyn to be full of orphans.

What about you?  Any titles have you curious?  Join in on the fun at Paper Hangover!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

21 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Titles that are awesome-o

  1. Cool topic, and those are some great titles. Forest of Hands and Teeth conjures some intense imagery, huh?

  2. Oooh fantastic title choices there! I tend to buy books based on blurbs rather than titles, but I won’t deny it’s often an interesting or quirky or strange title that will grab me first!

  3. I always love it when I find a list of TBR read books. Thanks so much.

  4. OMG, I love number 1! I’m picturing a bunch of tessellations involving monster origami now.

  5. Those last three in particular (from your list of 5) seem to drive off of contradictory/unexpected pairings of concepts.

    “Sweetness” of “Salt”
    “Elegance” of “Hedgehog”
    “Forest” of “Hands and Teeth”

    (The idea of saying “Goodbye” to a “Robot” could even be made to fit into that conceptual grouping…)

    It’s an interesting thought to keep in mind as we come up with our own titles!

  6. I want to read How to Say Goodbye in Robot just based on the title!

    Nice list. I forgot to add Forest of Hands and Teeth to mine.

    Have a great weekend!

  7. Great titles! Here’s a few more I like: One Hundred Years of Solitude, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, and Where the Sidewalk Ends.

  8. The Patterns of Paper Monsters does sound intriguing and like a child scared of the dark! Saying hello from you chick lit group;)

  9. Hi Jennifer, I dropped by from the Campaign list. I’m drawing a blank on the intriguing title question, but I did notice, in your little bio, your mention of the Northern Shenandoah Valley. Do you live there? I was raised a Valley girl — Waynesboro and Staunton. My dad taught at Mary Baldwin. Mom is still in Wboro.

  10. Great list! I’m a fellow Campaigner, and I wanted to stop by, take a look at your blog, and say hello. Good luck with the Campaign!

  11. 10 things we did and probably shouldn’t have by Mlynowski.

    I SO want to read that book.

  12. Wow! “How t osay bye bye in Robot”
    Why does that slap me in the face so much? That’s the coolest title of all the cool titles up there.

  13. Great titles. ‘How to say goodbye in robot’ caught my eye too!

  14. The Forest of Hands and Feet both intrigues me and scares the crap out of me. But I once bought a travelogue called ‘The Sex Lives of Cannibals’—and no it had no sex in it. Still a great title.

  15. My TBR includes Ashes, which comes out soon.

    Agree with everyone on Forest of H&T. I think of clacking bones and ripping fingers…*shivers*

  16. I’m not familiar with all of them. I only read 2 and 5. I’m a sucker for fantastic titles. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

