Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Back to School and I Didn’t Study for the Test Reading List

7 Comments

You guys, it’s almost fall!

*dances a happy jig*

So what am I reading in September?

Well…

I know it’s shocking coming from me, the girl who would determinedly read to the end of any book, no matter how much I disliked it, but there are a few books I’ve put down and never finished.  It’s too soon for me to attempt War and Peace again, I still haven’t recovered from my attempt earlier in the year, so my never-finished book for 2011 is:

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Isn’t it funny that most of my never-finished books are “classics?”  Yes, curious indeed.

Coincidentally, BNW is on the frequently challenged list and September 24-October 1, 2011 is Banned Books Week, so OF COURSE I am going to
read MORE banned/challenged books!

Here is a list from the ALA, if you would like to join me.

I used a random number generator and came up with:

It’s so Amazing by Robie Harris

Which will take me all of five minutes to read, so I picked another:

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

But, alas, school also means doing homework and I’ve again fallen behind on books I’ve bought and/or gotten in the mail, so I better tackle my
bookshelf before it falls over and before it’s time for my local library to have their semi-annual book sale in October.

PLUS:

I’m mega excited about Tracey Neithercott’s idea for a FALL BOOK CLUB!  Go check out her post, add some suggestions, vote for a winner when the time is right, etc., etc.

Happy reading, everybody!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

7 thoughts on “Back to School and I Didn’t Study for the Test Reading List

  1. I’ve never even started BRAVE NEW WORLD. I’m also compulsive about finishing books–but I abandoned a non-YA new release this year. I still feel guilty about it and want to buy another copy to finish!

  2. Thanks for contacting Jennifer! This campaign is new to me, but it looks interesting. 🙂

  3. It could be the classic style of writing just doesn’t jive well with the generations nowadays. The word “jive” probably wouldn’t exist in any of them either.

  4. I have a bunch of books in my bookshelf I haven’t read yet, too. The Fall book club sounds like a great idea! I’m going to go check it out and see what you guys are reading.

  5. Love this! I did a similar post not too long ago, because I rarely put down a book. My three (and there’s only been three so far): Wicked, Year in Provence, and Count of Monte Cristo.

    Granted there were some books I should have put down but didn’t. Eat, Love, Pray is one I wished I had. But, alas, I read the darn thing.

Leave a Reply

