Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

SummySeries Book Reflection

3 Comments

I’ve read SOOO many books this summer, how can I pick just one or two to talk about???

I already gushed about Anne Shirley, so I’ll refrain from doing that again.

You’ve heard of Movies in a Minute?  Here are my Books in a Sentence:

Like Mandarin by Kirsten Hubbard: Beautiful writing, great imagery, liked the focus on an unlikely, painful-at-times friendship as Grace tries to find the place she belongs.

Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers: Snarky MC (who I actually liked even though I’m not sure I was supposed to), a sweet dog, a new guy, self-destruction/unraveling as Parker tries to come to terms with the horrible thing she did.

Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler: Great theme of starting over/finding yourself when your dream is taken from you, the great outdoors, insanely smexy times with an emotionally damaged guy, a family reconnecting during summer vacation, satisfying realistic ending.

What is everyone else reading?  If you’ve got a good recommendation, lemme know, I’m always up for suggestions!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

3 thoughts on “SummySeries Book Reflection

  1. I loved LIKE MANDARIN. Friendship stories are definitely my fave.

  2. I’ve read (and LOVED!) SOME GIRLS ARE, and I’ve got CRACKED UP TO BE sitting in my TBR pile… I should really move it to the top of the stack because I absolutely love how Courtney Summers writes about the trauma of high school. Thanks for the great recommendations!

Leave a Reply

