Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

My (lacking) green thumb

7 Comments

One of the things that has remained constant in my life is:

I kill plants

Not on purpose, of course, but I can’t seem to keep greenery alive.

At my old job, I was so pleased with myself for having a thriving plant.  Then my co-workers confessed that they had been taking care of it for me when I was gone for the day.

(I don’t work there anymore, so not surprisingly, my plant is no more)

But I’ve decided to try again, this time with outdoor flowers:

^confession: my hubby is actually the one who technically planted these.  Well, except for the hosta, it was already there.

We planted mums:

I be hearty! She will not crush my spirit!

And we planted this thing:

Sadly, I have no identity

^My mom gave it to me and said it grew as a straight, red stalk.   Any gardeners out there who recognize this and can give me a name???

So this is my newly planted garden.  In a few months, I will either be excited by fall blooms or I will be weeping over the destruction.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

7 thoughts on “My (lacking) green thumb

  1. I’m not a great gardener either. It’s August and I’m still waiting for my tomatoes. The Hosta should do okay. I have lots of that and haven’t killed it. If your Mums don’t work out you can always buy them already started next month. Good luck!

  2. Is the unidentified soil-dwelling object rhubarb? It kinda looks like it.
    I kill plants too–cacti, ficus trees, bonsai, mums, orchids, basil, everything. Good luck with yours!

  3. Good luck! I kill plants too. It seems like my outdoor plants fare better though because mother nature actually waters them 🙂

  4. Truthfully, I’m not a big fan of dirt, so I don’t even try to plant things. In my mind, I’m going to be the person who plants a garden and eats the veggies I’ve grown, but in reality I’ll just go to the farmers market and eat the veggies in front of my TV.

    Good luck with your plants though! I hear they like water. 😉

Leave a Reply

