Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

The ultimate flashback

4 Comments

I’ve started a new WIP this month.  As usual, I forced my husband to sit and listen to a summary of all my ideas.  It went a little something like this:

Me: “Which one should I work on?”

Husband (looking pained after an hour of listening to my ideas): “I don’t know, which one do you want to work on?

Me: That’s why I’m asking you!

Husband: Eh…can I go now?

I have a folder on my computer of half finished WIPs and I *thought* I remembered everything in the folder, until I stumbled across “Dear Diary.”

“What’s that?” you ask.

Well, since you clearly want to know…

In high school, 10th grade, I’m pretty sure, I wrote this short story consisting of diary entries.  It was a psychological thriller.  Or as thriller as I could be at 16 with a fear of scary movies.

I then turned it into a “screenplay” and filmed it, complete with “production notes.”  I still have the movie somewhere around here.  The quality of a mid-1990s VHS tape filmed with a 1980s video camera about the size of a Volkswagen is, as you can imagine, fantastic.  The grainy, dim aspect really adds to the tension.

So Dear Diary (obvs a working title) is what I’m tackling this month and beyond.  As usual, I have no plan and have just jumped right into it and will see what happens.

Should be fun.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

4 thoughts on “The ultimate flashback

  1. I’m very intrigued by the shiny new idea (well, an idea you dusted off). And I MUST see that movie. You have to find it.

  2. It’s funny you mention this. I was searching for a file for school the other day and found something that was close to the file name I was looking for… it ended up being the first few chapters of a WIP from a few years ago. And I don’t hate it! I’m thinking about working on that next. 🙂

    Good luck with the new/old WIP idea. I’d love to see that movie as well!

  3. Ladies, you better be careful what you wish for, I might just bust that movie out!

  4. Please bust out the movie!
    The thriller told through diary entries sounds pretty great–I’m excited to see what you do with your WIP.

Leave a Reply

