Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Pics!

9 Comments

 <– This is the Ponca Low Water Bridge in Arkansas (credit).  I’ve never been to Arkansas and my WIP isn’t set there and there are obviously closer bridges to me, but something about this pic…

The bridge in my story has a lot to do with the plot and whenever a scene took place there, I pulled this pic up and imagined my characters being angsty or assholey.

(credit) In another WIP, the MC buys an old house with the intention of restoring it.  I have terrible (to put it mildly) spatial skills so I needed to see an actual floor plan to visualize her in this place.  I started with this exact layout to begin with, then as I got to know the house, I was able to change around the layout and make it unique.

 (credit – me) In yet another WIP, the MC lives down the street from a mini forest.  She and her cousin used to build forts and all that other fun kid stuff when they were younger and they still hide out there sometimes when life gets stressful.

 This is definitely one of my fave pics I’ve taken – it was somewhere around 2000 or 2001, but I love that the Boardwalk looks so old-timey.  The characters in one of my WIPs take a trip to the beach off-season and the place has that sort-of deserted, apocalyptic feel to it.

Okay, technically not a pic, but one of my friends gave me this little trinket in middle school and I absolutely loved it.  I would stare at those mountains and imagine running away to them.  And they partially inspired the mountains in one of my stories, although I didn’t even realize it until much later.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

9 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Pics!

  1. Love the boardwalk pic. It reminds me of my many college days spent walking down the beach’s boardwalks and how the experience seemed to change day by day. 🙂

  2. I lived down the street from a mini forest as a kid, and my BFF and I used to hide out there all the time. It was magical. So of course I love that pic.
    The boardwalk one is great, too.

  3. I love the old-timey boardwalk picture! Very cool. And I love that you used a floor plan image to help you with your WIP… that’s totally something I would do too. 🙂

  4. Love these- even cooler that most were taken by you!

  5. Okay – I totally love the boardwalk pic. LOVE it.

    Your second pic reminded me of how I draw layouts for imaginary high schools or places I’ve conjured. Neat!

  6. I’ve used floorplans in WIPs before as well. It’s one of the great things about the internet!

  7. It’s so awesome that you have a floorplan for your WiP! It really does make things clearer.

Leave a Reply

