Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Creativity

7 Comments

      1. Reading – I always think, “I want to write a kickass book like this!”
      2. TV/Movies – I’m a TV junkie, I admit.  I like to watch and find people that look like my characters.  I imagine casting them in movies based on my books.  If that makes me lame, I’m totally okay with that. 
      3. Everyday observation – the certain way a guy looks at his watch, the feeling of passing a creepy house, a hilarious conversation with a friend…and on and on.
      4. Sleeping/Showering/Driving/Working or any other activity where I can’t immediately pick up paper and jot down an idea.  The more inconvenient my current situation (shampoo in my eyes while the bathroom is flooding and the phone ringing), the better the idea.
      5. Music – something about jumping around my office, dancing like no one’s watching (because no one is) really gets my pumped.  One of my favorite freak-out songs: 
Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

7 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Creativity

  1. Excellent methods. I try jogging, too–but it’s hard to write those creative sparks down in the moment.

  2. I’m with you- I always get wonderful ideas when I can’t write them down. So annoying! That song is so much fun. I just got a door on my cube…maybe I need to start dancing…

  3. Oh, if only I could jump around and dance in my office to music, who knows what kind of stories I’d conjure up! But sadly, I’m pretty sure my co-workers would have me committed. 🙂

    Great list, Jennifer!

  4. Oh my. If I danced around the day job, they’d stare at me. (Of course, I wouldn’t be dancing around to Tangerine Speedo either.)

  5. I’ve worked from home for so long now, I don’t know what I would do at a “real” office anymore – I’d probably get a lot of looks as I danced around…lol

  6. I wish I could just dance around and get inspiration. I think I’d get too caught up in my sweet, sweet dance moves 🙂 Great list!

  7. Hey Jennifer! Movies are the best for me. I find I always get good ideas or feel more motivated to write after going to the movies. I also get ideas when I’m almost asleep. It’s not uncommon at all for me to jump out of bed in the middle of the night to write down an idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

