Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

SummySeries Smorgasbord!

2 Comments

So it was one year ago (roughly) that I announced my first ever SummySeries and since I read all seven Harry Potter books during those few months, I considered it a smashing success.

This summer I’m still going to read a series, but I’m adding a few extras.

Here’s the breakdown:

SERIES

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Yes, it’s true, I’ve seen the movies, but have never read the books.  Can’t wait to fall in love with Gilbert again as he tells Anne, “I’m soory aboot that.”

(Oh, Gilbert, I know you’re the reason for my unnatural love of Canadians)

JUNE IS YA CONTEMP MONTH

The Contemps declared it so and I’m not arguing – I never need an excuse to read some contemp!  I’ll probably just close my eyes and point at my neverending TBR-list. 

SO I GOT THIS BOOK…

I’ve gotten several books by mail/email the last few months and haven’t read any of them yet.  I desperately need to catch up!

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling

Invincible Summer by Hannah Moskowitz

Like Mandarin by Kirsten Hubbard

Second Sight by Sherry Ficklin

ONE BOOK, ONE COMMUNITY

One of the libraries in my area announces a book every spring and the entire community (in theory) has the summer/fall to read…there are discussion panels and other goodness.  I don’t technically live in this community, but close enough, so I’m reading the book.

The Devil Amongst Lawyers by Sharyn McCrumb

FOR FUN

One of my friends remembered a Western he read as a kid and since I liked the last Western he recommended, I’m giving this one a whirl, too. 

The Man on the Blue by Luke Short

I’ve been curious for awhile about Sweet Valley Confidential and the updated Baby-sitter Club books, so I’ll probably check those out.  I hope I’m not too badly scarred by SVC, I’ve heard some bad things about it.  The BSC has graphic novels and non-80s versions, not sure which one I’ll read, maybe both, and obviously not all of them.

###

And there it is – let the SummySeries Smorgasbord* begin!

*I apologize to Scandinavia collective for not adding the proper diacritics to your helpful word.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

2 thoughts on “SummySeries Smorgasbord!

  1. Yeah, Contemp YA month!
    I read the updated SVC–you may want some Mederma and/or Neosporin to prevent the scars. But if you go into it with the right attitude, it’s a fun read.

Leave a Reply

