Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Internet Distractions

15 Comments

What are FIVE of your most distracting (procrastination-worthy) things (habits, websites, etc.) on the internet?

1. YouTube (or any video site really).  “Hmm…is there an 80s hair metal mix on here I can listen to while I work?”  “Oohh…episodes of Degrassi Junior High, I totally remember this storyline from 20 years ago!”

2. Chat (I count this since I have to be online to do it).  One of my friends and I chat all day long about everything from the astronomical price of parking in D.C. to the HUH that is Justin Bieber launching a perfume.

3. Email.  If there were cash prizes for how many times I checked my email, I would be the proud owner of a private island.

4. Wikipedia – when I have a question, I think, “To the Wikipedia!”  I am a huge nerd.  I’m also a news junkie, so I get distracted by headlines a lot.  And shiny things.

5. Any sites that have something resembling a quiz or trivia, like Sporcle or Mental Floss.  Heck yeah, I can name the cast of Saved by the Bell!  And if the site has a word game, I will inevitably play it.

So those are my five distractions – check out Paper Hangover and play along!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

15 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Internet Distractions

  1. Hey Jennifer,

    I’m with you on Wikipedia as well. Researching for stories ends up being me just reading a bunch of interesting stuff.

    –Michael

  2. Chat! Yes! I spend alllll day on chat most days. lol

  3. Wikipedia is such a huge one for me too! Too many things to know, not enough time to find out about it all 😦

  4. Yes to YouTube and email. Embarrassing confession: once I wasted an hour of writing time by watching grainy Phil Collins videos on YouTube. [Hangs head in shame] [Why Phil Collins? Still don’t know.]

    • Haha! I got distracted by clips of that 70s show Emergency! yesterday. I’ve never seen it before, but I spent like half the day trying to piece it all together. The drama sucked me in!

  5. Oh I used to love Degrassi Jr. High. Sometimes I think about adding it to my list of schools on my facebook profile.

  6. Ah Sporcle. Hubby loves distracting me that with that one.

  7. All really deserving distractions to make the list, Jen!

    Wikipedia? Must have. Chat? Add another one to my list. Man, it’s amazing I find any time to actually write!

    And word games? Um, I’m addicted to WordFeud on my phone (Android app)!
    Great list!

  8. YES! Trivia rules! Heh, I also spend much too time on chatting and tweeting – even though I’m actually uber introverted!

  9. OMG, Mental Floss… noooo… I’m being sucked in!

  10. I love Sporcle! That can seriously occupy me for hours.

Leave a Reply

