Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives: Best Advice

5 Comments

The awesome ladies over at Y(A)? Cuz We Write! do a fun segment every week called Friday Fives and this week the question is:

What are FIVE pieces of useful advice you have received as an aspiring writer?

Mine are:

  1. Have patience – it’s way harder than it sounds
  2. Get some beta readers – oddly enough, I’m not very objective about my own writing
  3. Just because an agent doesn’t like my stuff, it doesn’t mean I suck
  4. Although, sometimes my writing does suck (hello first drafts), but that’s okay
  5. Connect with other writers – the YA community online is AH-MAY-ZING

Happy Friday!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

5 thoughts on “Friday Fives: Best Advice

  1. Amen to all five! Especially #1. #1 routinely kicks my butt.

  2. AWESOME list! And thanks for showing us some love, we aim to please 🙂 Patience is so important! I really like the one about BETA readers, that is sooo important, and I didn’t realize how important until my cuz, Pam forced me to let others read my writing. It’s scary at first, but now I’m used to it. Again, great list and I hope you participate again next week!!!

  3. Hey Jennifer! I love this list. I agree on all of them but the one that stuck with me the most is #3. It’s hard to have faith in your work when someone “in the know” doesn’t love it. We all just have to keep in mind that as long as we work hard enough, SOMEONE will love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

