Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Perspective

4 Comments

Monday May 1, 2006

My lil’ bro SO rocks. A couple weeks ago, I was talking about how I should read Bridge to Terabithia again b/c I hadn’t read it since I was in 3rd grade, but I still remembered being “moved” by it (or whatever emotion you can feel when you are that young). So yesterday I was over at my parent’s house and D comes into the living room and sets the book beside me on the couch. He had checked it out from his classroom and given it to me to read first! He’s so sweet. So I read it yesterday evening…re-reading it felt like when I watched that ‘Family Ties’ episode again as an adult…the one where Alex’s friend dies in the accident…I was traumatized as a kid, but not so much as an adult. Of course, I am more traumatized now by ‘The Wonder Years’ than I was when I was a kid b/c I realize how we take a lot of things for granted when we’re that young.

It’s funny how your perspective changes as you get older.  I’ve talked about this before, but it seems especially relevant to me now that I’m working on editing a YA WIP.  Sometimes it’s difficult to find that line between being reflective and sounding like an adult.  I was so much more impulsive as a teen and I didn’t think things through that much (or at all).  I know in my head that my characters need to make mistakes and be dumb in that same way, but it’s hard, almost like I’m a parent that doesn’t want their kids to get hurt.

So that’s my quandary for this month…

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

4 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. Very true. It’s funny what moves you as an adult vs. as a kid. And as a teen, I loved watching scary movies (a la Scream)–now I can hardly watch a gruesome ep of Law & Order without freaking out. I’m a lot more sensitive to violence now.

    • Although I wasn’t as traumatized by Bridge to Terabithia the 2nd time around (prob b/c I was expecting it), in general I get way more upset now over things with kids getting hurt or dying.

  2. This is such an interesting post! I wonder if my perspective as an adult is good for my YA WIP or bad. Hopefully I’m tapped into my own past as a teenager enough to get through it. To be honest, I still have issues with authority and still feel like people don’t listen to me… and I’m 30. Oy. I hear you about looking back on things you read or watched as a child. It’s a very different experience as an adult.

    • I have the “people not listening to me” problem, too, because I look young. A few months ago, I dropped something off for my mom at her work and one of her co-workers asked her if I’d driven all by myself b/c she thought I was only about 16…hah…and my mom looks young, too, so the woman didn’t believe she could have a 32-yr-old.

Leave a Reply

