Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

April Reading Reflections

Leave a comment

Okay, fess up, who is going to my library and checking out the books I want and not returning them on time?

This happened with not one, but TWO of my April reading list books.  So I picked up a few others from my TBR list.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

I admit, it took me awhile to get into it.  I guess because I didn’t see Alaska’s appeal (maybe if I was a hormonal teenage boy?).  And for awhile I heard John Green’s voice reading the narration and not Miles’, the actual MC.  Not that it was a bad thing, because if you’ve ever watched any of the Vlog Bros videos, you know that JG has a beautiful way of describing pretty much everything, from Amsterdam to giraffe sex.

Anyway, I liked the Colonel a lot because that’s my type of guy – the rough and tough, unexpectedly smart, hard living type of guy.  But Miles…eh, he was okay, a bit too wishy-washy for me.

So I was liking, but not loving the book, until I got to the barn scenes.

And there was such raw honesty that I felt like I was a teenager again, hanging out in a fleeting moment that I thought would last forever.

The book definitely lives up to the hype and I’ll be checking out more John Green in the future.

May reading list goes up next Wednesday!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

