Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

My Buddy

8 Comments

Hey, wanna go for a ride, boy? Do ya???

No, not that creepy 80’s doll, I’m talking about the buddy in the pic.

What is that, you may ask. 

I wish I knew. 

The short story:

I found Buddy in the air filter box in my car.

Long story:

My car was acting “funny” and my husband (over the phone) gave me instructions on where the air filter was so I could see if it needed to be replaced.  After struggling for awhile to no avail, I gave up, went inside, and pouted.  When I went back outside, my neighbor was sitting on his porch and, not wanting to look like an amateur, I attacked the box and managed to get to my air filter.  Buddy was hanging out underneath and I poked at it with a screwdriver before I realized it wasn’t alive.  I removed him and then I checked my oil, just to look extra cool.  My filter was fine and now so is my car, so Buddy must have been the problem.

Note:

I got on my laptop and looked up something like “weird things under my air filter” and came across several forums where people had found petrified rats and nests and other scary wonders.  If any of those things had been under my hood, I would have screamed like a girl and run away.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

8 thoughts on “My Buddy

  1. Eww!
    Now the “My Buddy” jingle is stuck in my head. Those dolls were kind of creepy, now that I think about it.

  2. The jingle is stuck in my head too! That thing kind of looks like a miniature elephant.

  3. glad you found it, before IT found YOU!

  4. I once left my car in the driveway for a month, then had to pay to remove the nest the squirrels built in there. At least I didn’t have to see it.

Leave a Reply

