Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Scarface

5 Comments

This week’s RTW topic is:

Your best scar

As a child I decided it was a wise idea to get my mom’s broom and run full-speed with it down the stairs.  I was pretending to be a witch.  Only instead of flying, I tumbled down the steps and busted my lip open.

Now for the scar that changed my life’s ambition:

I was six and my dream in life was to be a nurse.  Not that I wanted to help people, I think it was mostly the idea of using real-life versions of these:

My older bro and I were playing tag after a 4-H meeting (can y’all tell we grew up rural?) and someone flung open the door and hit him in the head.  He and my mom remained calm, I went into full-fledge meltdown over the sight of blood.  He got stitches and I decided I would be a writer instead of a medical professional.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

5 thoughts on “RTW – Scarface

  1. Love it! I gave up being pre-med when I realized just how much of a hypochondriac I am.

    • LOL! When I look back on my childhood ambitions, I sometimes wonder what I was thinking. At one point I wanted to be a horror movie director, ignoring the fact I’m too scared to actually watch them.

  2. haha! That’s a good reason to become a writer. Not a lot of blood in that profession. 🙂 I had a similar experience with pretending to fly down the stairs and I had a huge bump on my head from it.

  3. I’ve been a nurse for 11 years now & have seen some messy messes during that time, but I had to bring my husband with me to our daughter’s first vaccination appointment! I couldn’t handle the thought of someone sticking a needle in her, even though I’ve done it to others on countless occasions!

Leave a Reply

