Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

¿Where is the library?

3 Comments

Happy National Library Week!

It’s funny, because my first library memory is actually a bad one.  I don’t know if I was being too loud or running or what, but one of the workers yelled at me.  In my little kid head, she was a giant and closely resembled the witch from The Wizard of Oz.

But I got over the fear and I’ve got some great memories now:

My older bro and I checking out Three by the Sea.  Repeatedly.  And now his daughter has just checked out aforementioned book (obviously a different copy) and the adults may be more excited than the kid.

In high school I was working on a project about Soundgarden (how cool was my teacher?) and my BFF was working on one about Nirvana and we got to go to the community college library to check out archived Rolling Stone and Spin magazines.  Something felt very adult about doing this.  Like, when people asked, “Where’d you get that old copy?”  I would say, “Oh, this thing?  Yes, I went to this little place, you wouldn’t know it…it’s the library at the college.”  (I may be exaggerating slightly)   

My BFF had über strict parents and one of the only places we were allowed to hang out was the local library.  Oddly enough, I didn’t read a lot as a teen, so hanging out with her was usually the only time I ever went there.

There’s this one day of high school that sticks in my head, junior or senior year, when a group of us were in the school library.  We sat in a circle, just bs-ing for awhile, and I don’t remember most of what we talked about, but think barn scene in “Looking for Alaska,” but less depressing and without any Boone’s.  Some horrible stuff happened to a few of those people after graduation and maybe that’s why this good moment really stands out.

^Sorry for the unintentional downer. 

Now go forth, to the library!  You know, that cool, exclusive club that lets you borrow stuff for free.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

3 thoughts on “¿Where is the library?

  1. Loved reading your library memories. I hung out there all the time in HS, too. 🙂

  2. Libraries are awesome. My mom used to take me when I was little, and there’s a picture from the town paper that has me and my best friend there, before we even knew each other.

Leave a Reply

