Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Sesame Street!

4 Comments

From the past:

April 4, 2004

I’m watching the 35th anniversary special of Sesame Street. I love Bert! He walked into “Elmo’s World” and gave Elmo this look before asking, “Where am I?” And, when Elmo responded, “Elmo’s World!” Bert asked, “And, how do I get out of Elmo’s World?”

Now they’re showing a short clip from each year and I really like how the show has changed with society, like how in 1980, Big Bird was on roller-skates [I admit, I love roller-disco] and then in the 90’s, there were rappers as guest stars.

I was so traumatized when Mr. Hooper died.

Sesame Street had such a major impact on my life:

I still own the book, “I’ll Miss You, Mr. Hooper.”

One of the first movies I saw in the theater was “Follow That Bird.”  The first was E.T. when I stood up and screamed at the bad men to stop chasing E.T.  No wonder it was years before my mom took me to see another.

I can remember waiting in the car with my mom for my older brother to get off the bus and I would crouch on the floor and pretend I was Oscar the Grouch. 

Then I would torment my brother by acting like Ernie and making him Bert and bugging the crap out of him.  Mostly because he would get upset like Bert did and that made it fun.  Aren’t lil’ sisters great???

And who didn’t do the whole, “Cookies!  Num Num Num,” as they shoved food into their mouths?  Cookie Monster still makes me laugh.

I still sing this song:


Sesame Street was such a blast to watch and maybe that’s why I didn’t realize I was learning.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

4 thoughts on “Sesame Street!

  1. Oh, I love Sesame Street too! I was really upset when Mr. Hooper died and I remember my parents sat down and discussed it with me afterwards. I love that Sesame Street took such risks. I still say ‘Num num num’, by the way. 🙂

  2. “But Gordon, I can’t jump from a moving vehicle! Why, I shouldn’t even be standing!”

    “Big Bird, I am giving you permission!”

    I love that movie. I just transferred Sesame Street songs from the LPs to my mp3 player. “Rubber Duckie” never gets old.

  3. HAHA, Big Bird cracks me up! And Gordon…I loved the people as much as the muppets.

Leave a Reply

