Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Bigfoot CindeRRRRRella

8 Comments

When I was a kid, one of my heroes was the librarian at my elementary school.  When we all gathered around her to listen to a story, I just *knew* that one day that would be me.  And I did go on to get my MLS, although I’ve never actually used my degree.

But I did get to live my childhood dream last Friday when I read to a group of kindergartners.  And it was as fun as I imagined it would be.

Side note: I’m petrified of public speaking, but if my audience was always a bunch of five and six years old, I’d do okay. 

Bigfoot Cinderrrrrella is just what it sounds like – a Bigfoot version of Cinderella.  Some of the words were huge – like odoriferous (in a kids book, huh?) – but I held my nose to show it meant stinky.  The pics were funny and the one with the gathering of all the Bigfoots (Bigfeet?) made the kids go, “Whoa!”

But the best part was the kids recognizing what the story was based on – “Hey, that sounds like Cinderella!”

So fun-times all around and I liked my 10 minutes of feeling like a rock star.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

8 thoughts on “Bigfoot CindeRRRRRella

  1. Reading to kids is so rewarding, isn’t it? I love how you handled the big words and it sounds like you ended up with a bunch of fans in addition to the boost of confidence. Keep up the great work! 😀

    Martina

  2. Oh, that’s so fun! I am going to be reading to some kiddies in mid-April and I’m really excited about it. I like that word ‘odoriferous’ Kewl.

  3. That sounds like a super rad day–I love reading to kids. I think that’s the only time I want anything actor-y or public speaking-y to do (I love reading with silly voices).

  4. What a great looking book. I think I might need to get this for my little girl. She is the 4th of 5 kids and the only girl. Definitely a little bit of Cinderella and a lot Big foot! 🙂

    I came over to say hi from March Madness. You have a beautiful backyard and I have to say I get the same joy you do out of reading/writing outdoors. Bring on Spring! 🙂

Leave a Reply

