Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

March Goal Update #2

4 Comments

I’ve started to wake up BEFORE my alarm.  Disturbing.  Whoa, it’s not even eight right now!

Here’s what I’ve gotten done this week:

Editing: Finished last weekend!  And then I remembered I hadn’t completely finished my synopsis, so I remedied that.  I don’t relish writing them, but they’re actually a big help with plot continuity.  Because when I first started on the synopsis, back during rough draft stage, I had a few a-ha (and not the band) moments where I realized a scene needed to be moved or when it was completely extraneous and needed to be RE-moved.

Agent research: I’ve got eight names tucked away and will keep plodding on.  Was reminded that it is possible to watch the American Idol results show AND work since there’s only like five seconds that actually count on the Thursday show.

Query: Waiting to hear back on critique.

Reading: Book #2, Snakebite Sonnet.  The main characters are all self-indulgent, a la writers from the 1920’s (except imagine them in the 70s, 80s & 90s).  It’s kind-of like if Henry Miller wrote The Great Gatsby.  Not really my style, although I can see it making an interesting movie.  About 30 pages left and then I start Anna and the French Kiss.  

Other thoughts: Last week I said Paula Deen should hand out all criticisms.  This week I tack on that Gary Busey should provide all of my pep talks. 

Case in point:

You know what ‘FEAR’ stands for? It stands for ‘False Evidence Appearing Real.’ It’s the darkroom where Satan develops his negatives.

Yes, it’s true, I get my inspiration from Buseyisms. 

Sometimes insanity is brilliant. 

Happy Friday!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

4 thoughts on “March Goal Update #2

  1. Yay! Congrats on accomplishing so many goals! I’ve heard such wonderful things about Anna and the French Kiss, but I haven’t read it yet. Hope you enjoy it!

  2. I’m inspired by your goal setting. I need to revisit mine I think.

Leave a Reply

