Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I’m a girl, I just wanna have fun

8 Comments

That's a baby chick, not a hair blob

Today’s RTW question:

I would have given anything to be like…

Wow, this is hard.  I’m not sure there was anyone I wanted to be JUST like, but I can think of certain traits about people I wished were mine.

When I was a kid, I was obsessed with Cyndi Lauper because she was so HER, you know with the dyed hair and the whole “I’ll do what I want attitude.”  I wanted to be cool like her when I grew up.  I did have dyed hair for awhile in my early 20’s, thanks to a friend who took charge of it while I was talking on the phone at her place one afternoon.  She grabbed a chunk and started bleaching it and next thing I knew I had a bright red streak in my hair (see pic, although it was somewhat orange there from fadeage).  I also had blue and green.  Green = not so hot.

Above-mentioned friend can jump right into any social situation.  People think I’m shady because I’m quiet.  Or so I think they think.

I’d like to have her at-ease-ed-ness with crowds and loudness and all that stuff.

I admire my older brother’s crazy genius brain and people that are talented at things like art and singing and mind-blowing martial arts (Jet Li anyone?).  But I can’t even draw a stick figure and Chuck Norris I am not.

I’ve got another friend that’s very much into saving animals and I love that about her – her resolve and dedication.  She’s the type that would chain herself to a tree to protest wrongdoings.

I think it all boils down to: I’ve always liked the idea of leaving my mark on the world, of being memorable.*

“Hey, that’s that shady, quiet writer chick, isn’t it?”

“Yep.”

“Cool.  You think she wants to go out to the bar with us tonight?”

“No, probably not, I hear she spends Friday nights watching Welcome Back, Kotter episodes.  She’s got a thing for Epstein.”

“How eccentric of her.”

*If nothing else, I can be known for my absurdity.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

8 thoughts on “I’m a girl, I just wanna have fun

  1. I love that hair color. I have always wanted to dye my hair a bold color and I never have had the guts to do it. So kudos to you for taking on the Cyndi Lauper attitude!

  2. Absurdity is a great trait! I’m sure you’ll find a way to leave your mark on the world 🙂 I love your colored streak. “I see your true colors, shining through…” (picture me singing that…hehe)

  3. “Or so I think they think.”

    Yup. This. (As in that’s my mindset, not that I think you’re shady.)

  4. I especially loved “If nothing else, I can be known for my absurdity.” Me too, definitely!

  5. I love this post. I hope to be known for my absurdity as well! and feared. jk.
    Also the baby chick made me LOL.

Leave a Reply

