Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Books that learned me some stuff

2 Comments

Tomorrow (Wednesday, March 9) is World Read Aloud Day, so I started thinking about my favorite books from when I was a kid.  I’ve gone on numerous times about Three by the Sea by Edward and James Marshall, so I’ll spare everyone from redundancy.

Today I’m going to talk about two other books.

Firstly, Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss.

If you haven’t read this, I’m bummed out for you.

I mean, come on, the cover is orange and now when I see orange, I think of happy.  So right there is a big plus.

And the book encouraged me to try new foods, while sitting in a box with a fox, while a mouse looked on.

Oddly enough, I’m the world’s pickiest eater.  I like my food bland.  The blander, the better.  A friend once remarked that if the world had to turn to cannibalism, I would taste like tofu.

Joking aside, this book has a lesson for EVERYONE, not just kids.  And it’s simple, yet so many people ignore it.

**Don’t hate something just because it’s unfamiliar!!!**

The lesson is universal, that’s why this book is still so popular, more than 50 years later.  I was at a baby shower a few weeks ago and the baby-to-be received this book as a gift.  Everyone in the room, from 5 to 85, nodded in recognition at the orange cover.

~~~

The second book is Hansel and Gretel.  I know, there are probably about a trillion different versions of this one, but the basic story is simple.

Poor, sad dad who marries evil lady and she sends the kids out into the woods, hoping they’ll get lost.  Eventually they do, they find the candy house and the evil old woman tries to eat them.

Side note: WHY are women in fairy tales so evil?  And why are the men either sadly widowed or ruggedly handsome, tough ax wielders off to save the other type of women in these things – the beautiful, helpful victim?

Anyway, there’s that whole “don’t talk to strangers,” especially ones that live in candy houses lesson, but the reason I remember this story so fondly is because I read it so many times, I had it memorized and I would “read” it to anyone that would listen, complete with voices and acting and everything.  I always imagined I was like the brother, the crafty one, who would save my sibling from harm.

I’m sure my older brother felt much safer, knowing this.

I probably won’t do any reading aloud tomorrow (unless my teenage brother wants a visit at school from big sissy b/c that wouldn’t be embarrassing in the least bit), but March 18, I am reading to a group of kindergartners and I am super psyched. 

Go forth and read!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

2 thoughts on “Books that learned me some stuff

  1. Thanks for the heads-up on World Read Aloud day!
    I love both of those stories. 🙂

  2. Green Eggs and Ham is great. Somehow, it never helped me try new foods though…

Leave a Reply

