Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

February Reading Reflections

2 Comments

Last year I read Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler and this month, I read her novel, Fixing Delilah.  And guess what?  I’m a Sarah Ockler fan for life!

Ockler writers YA contemp, my fav, and I love how her characters are so…normal.  Even when they’re going through major issues, they do things that real people would do, like throwing a temper tantrum (ceramic cow, anyone?) or saying things they wish they could later take back.

But they’re also thoughtful and funny and I love the bonds and relationships, especially the mother/daughter dynamic in FD. 

And Little Ricky, aka Patrick, WOW, if I was a teenage girl, I’d be in love.

Can’t wait for the next book!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

2 thoughts on “February Reading Reflections

  1. I’ve been meaning to read TWENTY BOY SUMMER forever. Contemp YA is also my fave, especially when the characters are flawed and vivid and real.

Leave a Reply

