Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Degrassi Junior High

Leave a comment

Yes, I am old enough that I watched original Degrassi when it came on. Now I watch Degrassi TNG, but enough about my lameness.

I recently discovered that PBS uploaded a ton of DJH to YouTube so I have been happily rewatching. It’s really funny that I remember some of the storylines with such clarity, like Spike getting pregnant.

And OF COURSE I remembered Joey, Wheels, and Snake’s band, the Zits. To this day, this song makes me happy:

The first performance of the Zits (then called The Zit Remedy) was at the 8th grade graduation dance and the crowd goes wild, which seems a bit absurd to me now, but it reminded me of being in high school and going to see local bands. There was something SO cool about knowing people in a band and I have to admit I liked that smug feeling of, “Yeah, I know these guys.” Even if I really only knew, like, one of the guys, and only a little bit.

Nowadays, instead of playing at the youth center for a crowd of 20, garage bands can be seen by (potential) millions on the Internet.

But it’s just not the same as standing in a dark room with chaperones lurking nearby, nodding your head to the music because you’re too cool to dance, and drinking soda out of a plastic cup.

**have I finally reached that point where I’m a crotchety old man, glaring at traffic as I sit on my porch and reminisce about the good old days? I’m okay with that.**

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

