Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Favorite Literary Couple

3 Comments

Mine is actually a threesome.

Hah.

Not that kind of threesome.

I’m talking about a trio of friends from one of my favorite books when I was a kid.

 Three by the Sea by Edward Marshall, pics by James Marshall

To put it simply: Lolly, Sam, and Spider ROCK

Friends hanging out on the beach, eating, and telling stories – it’s like the most perfect, relaxing day and having people you can do that with is bliss…it’s love.

Gah, someone come take me to a warm beach, the DC area is freezing!

Sorry, freak-out over.  I tried to think of romantic love couples and there are a few that popped into my head, but when I analyzed why I liked them, it all came down to their solid base, that underlying friendship, and that’s what the hubs and I have.  He’s that person that I can talk to about anything, the one I can call and ask:

“How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?”

To which he answers, “As much wood as a woodchuck could chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood.” 

And I say thanks and hang up.  Apparently I did that once.  I don’t remember.

Anyway, that’s love to me, that person you can just be yourself with, not the whole sweeping, romantic passionate I’ve-known-you-for-five-seconds-and-it’s-destiny crap.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

3 thoughts on “RTW – Favorite Literary Couple

  1. “Anyway, that’s love to me, that person you can just be yourself with, not the whole sweeping, romantic passionate I’ve-known-you-for-five-seconds-and-it’s-destiny crap.” YES!

  2. I so get that! The hubby and I break out into a spontaneous robot dance that only we find funny and the first five seconds I met him, I thought he was a bit pompous so I definitely wasn’t swooning. But he’s a keeper, that guy of mine!

Leave a Reply

