Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Blog Tour Stop – Military Brats: After Burn by Sherry Ficklin

1 Comment

***One lucky commenter will win a goodie bag – see below for details***

Reece Barnet and her father have just relocated to sunny North Carolina, Marine Corps Air Station Cherry Point to be exact. It’s another new town and another new school. But just as Reece is starting to fit in, a rash of bomb threats rocks her father’s experimental aircraft squadron. When the authorities track the threats to Reece’s school, she decides to do some investigating of her own. Unfortunately, the more she digs, the more it looks like her new boyfriend is the culprit.

When the unthinkable happens and her father is rushed to the hospital, it becomes a race against time as Reece fights to protect her father, clear her boyfriend, and discover the surprising truth of the person behind it all!

To find out more about Sherry and her books, visit: http://www.sherryficklin.com/

Thoughts on the book

I’m always up for a good mystery, especially one set in the real world and solved through good ol’ fashioned sleuthing and not supernatural powers.

Reece’s observations cracked me up, especially this one about her soon-to-be-friends Kayla and Derek

“who reminded me of an Emo Barbie and Ken”

And the one she has while at a barbeque:

“If you’ve never had the opportunity to watch a group of teenage football players devour grilled meat, it’s kind of like watching a school of piranhas take down an antelope.”

I also liked Reece’s relationship with her dad – a father who actually exists in a YA book AND engages with his kid!

Interview

On Reece’s first day of school, she has a Twinkie and some green Gatorade, aka “the breakfast of champions.”  What are your favorite foods/drinks to consume while you’re writing?  Have you discovered any combos of food that sounded better in theory than in reality?

Never mix whole dill pickles with milk under any circumstances! LOL. I like to munch on Wasabi Peas, Gushers, and Twizzlers. I also like Monster energy drinks mixed with blueberry juice. Strange but delish!

Stealing a question from Greg – what’s your least favorite movie and why?  How about your favorite movie?

My least favorite movie of all time is (insert any Kevin Costner movie here). Yeah. Waterworld? I’d like that two hours of my life back, please.

My all time favorite is probably a tie between Clerks and To Serve Man which is this amazing B&W horror flick. Very cool.

Reece gets lost a few times while trying to figure out which hallway leads to her dad’s office – are you one of those people born with an internal compass or could you get lost in a cul-de-sac?  Do you have any memorable road-trip stories?

I have no natural sense of direction but that’s alright because I stop like every 60 miles or so when I’m road tripping. I LOVE stopping at little road side shops, gas stations, and restaurants. You find the coolest stuff and meet the funniest people. One time on a road trip, my roommate and I stopped at every rest area and stole one of those giant industrial size rolls of toilet paper from the bathroom, and then we used them to TP our destination (a friend’s house). Those things are seriously heavy, BTW.

Reece takes a ride on the Ferris wheel and in a rolling laundry basket at the laundry mat – which one is more fun?  Are you a fan of the big rides, like roller coasters, or do you prefer to stick with something closer to the ground, like bumper cars? 

I love roller coasters. In high school my friends and I took a trip to Kings Dominion and I rode the Hurler like twelve times in a row, then barfed up my chili dog. Best. Day. Ever. However, if you’ve never been pushed around in a laundry/grocery cart, I highly recommend it.

After a few games of pool, I got the feeling Reece was a bit of a shark – do you have any hidden talents?

I’m really good at baking, making pottery, and driving my husband to the brink of sanity. I’m especially proud of that last one.

Would you say your style is closer to Reece (casual, vintage), Kayla (emo, off-the-wall), or Georgia (soft and fem)?

Probably Reece. I keep it pretty toned down since I’m an old lady, but I do like off the wall jewelry and accessories.

Greg finds a pic of Reece from her days on the Pom Squad – what extra-curriculars were you a part of in high school? 

Wow. I was in the drama club, but I think that’s about it. I was never very into school or the extras it came with. I had an after school job for most of high school which didn’t help. It’s one thing I’m very strict about with my own high schooler. No working. I want him to focus on school and band and choir and all that fun afterschool stuff I missed out on. The extra cash isn’t worth it. Trust me.

The questions wouldn’t be complete without this one – who is your favorite fictional detective?

Wow, this is going to sound REALLY trite, but I’m writing a new adult mystery series and I’m SO in love with my main character, Sophie. She’s that perfect balance of ‘kick butt and take names’ and ‘oh my god I just lit my kitchen on fire making popcorn’. She’s so fun, I literally laugh out loud when I write her.

Thanks for having me! Don’t forget I have a Military Brats goodie bag going out to one lucky commenter!

Contest

Leave a comment on this post by February 20th, 11:59pm EST.  Winner announced February 21st.

Earn extra entries by:

Blogging about contest = +1

Linking to contest on your blog’s sidebar = +1

Tweeting about contest = +1

Any questions – just ask!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

One thought on “Blog Tour Stop – Military Brats: After Burn by Sherry Ficklin

Leave a Reply

