Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

One-legged duck

2 Comments

I drove up to the gas pump on Christmas Day and there he (she?) sat a short distance away, completely content, despite all the people and vehicles around.  I got out my camera and snapped a shot.

As I was getting back in my car after pumping, the duck stood up:

I walked closer, as did some guy who was also taking photos.  The duck remained as content as could be, almost like a pet.  Maybe a rescue who hopped away from his/her rescuer for some fresh air?

I considered picking up the duck and taking him/her with me, but what would I do with a duck other than marvel at it?

That’s all for this year, see ya in 2011, have a fun-filled, safe weekend!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

2 thoughts on “One-legged duck

  1. Is it weird to find a one-legged duck kinda inspiring? If so, I’m weird. 🙂

    • Not weird at all, I’m still thrilled I saw it. And I guess I was a bit distracted by it because when I showed my mom my Christmas pics, she asked why I didn’t take any of my niece (her only grandchild). I said, “But I’ve got the ones of the duck…”

Leave a Reply

