Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

FractsDays, the Christmas Edition

2 Comments

I won’t have a blog post next Friday since it’s Christmas Eve, so here are some holiday items to muse on today:

  • London-born Edmund Gwenn was 71 when he was cast in the part of Kris Kringle in Miracle on 34th Street (1947).  He started out in theatre and caught the attention of playwright George Bernard Shaw. 

***EDIT (for clarification): Gwenn started his acting career in 1895 and that’s when he was discovered by Shaw.  He went on to do lots of plays and movies, but Kris Kringle is the role many people know him from.   He died in 1959.

  • Wassailing (“here we come a-wassailing”) – they’re just singing to ya, no need to get alarmed.

 

  • Most people already know this, but just in case: Kiss under the mistletoe, but don’t eat it because many varieties are poisonous (to animal friends, too, so be careful where you leave it).

 

  • “Yes, Virginia, There is a Santa Claus,” is the most reprinted newspaper editorial – here it is, if you wanted to read it.  When I was a kid, I was obsessed with this editorial, mostly because the girl’s name is Virginia and I somehow twisted it in my head that it was instead addressed directly to the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Straying slightly-

Yes, Virginia, it is a Commonwealth.  So are Kentucky, Massachusetts, and Pennsylvania.  It all goes back to “government by the people” type stuff instead of all that royal rule crap.

(yes, I know I’m oversimplifying)

Finally, a kindly reminder: Don’t buy your kids a pet for Christmas if the animal isn’t going to be loved and taken care of for the LONG RUN.  One happy smiling kid face for five minutes isn’t worth a lifetime of misery for an abandoned/neglected pet.

Stepping off my soapbox now.  Enjoy your weekend!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

2 thoughts on “FractsDays, the Christmas Edition

  1. Fun facts! Maybe I’ll get my breakthrough role in Hollywood when I’m 71. 😉

Leave a Reply

