Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Conspiracy to harbor fracts

3 Comments

Criminal fract:

Thanks to a reporter friend, I now know that in Virginia one can be charged with:

Conspiracy to harbor illegal aliens for commercial advantage and financial gain.

I said to friend: I didn’t realize that there were different levels of harboring.

To which he answered: Conspiracy to harbor illegal aliens for driving in the HOV lane!

Which led me to:

According to Wikipedia, slugging “is the practice of forming…informal carpools for purposes of commuting…”

If you read the article, check out the General Practices/Unofficial Rules section – some of the terms (like ‘body-snatching’) are a little creepy.

Learned the hard way:

Years ago, I knew some people in Silver Spring (suburban MD), so I would go up to visit.

To get from VA to Sprang (as we used to call it), you’d get on I-495N.  It’s all very straightforward, no question about it.

On the way back, you have the choice of 495S OR 495W.

Logically, I chose SOUTH since I had gone north before.  However, traffic in the VA/DC/MD area isn’t always (or ever) logical.

I should have gone WEST.

Of course.

No worries, since the Beltway is a circle and I eventually found my way home, but driving extra miles wasn’t what I really wanted to do in the middle of the night.

##

Hope your weekend is full of easy commutes, see ya next week!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

3 thoughts on “Conspiracy to harbor fracts

  1. I used to drive between Chicago and Madison, WI, on I-90 or I-94. It took years to wrap my brain around the whole I-94E/W thing, considering east from Chicago was a massive lake.
    I got lost a lot.

  2. Laws bewilder me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

