Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

13 going on…

6 Comments

So this is weird.  I was re-watching “13 Going on 30” over the weekend because I love this movie.

But I don’t like the movie “Big,” which is basically the same concept.  It disturbs me on such a level, that I do that weird “there’s a ghost behind me” shiver.

And I can’t figure out what the difference is.  I like Tom Hanks – disliking him would be like disliking mashed potatoes or macaroni and cheese.  He’s so wholesome and familiar.

Jennifer Garner is the same way – very girl-next-door. 

Maybe it’s because the whole pseudo-romance in “13 Going on 30” was with her childhood friend who she had this connection with beforehand, so it seems less creepy for a teenager trapped inside an adult body to have a relationship with an adult.  Or maybe it’s because the MC is a girl?  Maybe it’s because I have a crush on Mark Ruffalo?

I was telling my mom about my thoughts and she said J.G. was believable as a 13-year-old, but T.H.’s character just acted stupid.

Maybe that’s it, I don’t know.  I guess it’ll remain one of the great mysteries of life.

In honor of being 13, I give you some of my old-school musings:

(Apparently I used to word “major” a lot when I was 13.  “Jack and Jill got caught kissing in the hall.  MAJOR.”  “The fight at lunch turned major.”  “It was snowing majorly last night.”)

August 10, 1992

Sometimes I wish life wasn’t so confusing!  I guess it wouldn’t be fun though.  I guess guys are one MAJOR confusing part.  Sometimes I wonder if I wonder too much or not.

September 6, 1992

This summer was DEFINITELY the BEST summer I’ve ever had in my whole 13 years of existence.  It was really weird but I loved it!

[skipping ahead, past all the long-winded details]

I feel like I’m writing a book! 

Reflections of JP’s 1992 Summer – the summer she was 13.  Carefree and naive (please, GAG me!)

###

Well…over 18 years later and I still remember that summer fondly.  And now I know the exact instant I decided I needed to write YA books…hah.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

6 thoughts on “13 going on…

  1. Oh man, I haven’t seen Big in ages and I’ve never seen 13 going on 30. All this ‘Time travel’-ish stuff is a little creepy though. Like in The Time Traveler’s Wife with love affairs between little girls and old men. Strange. I love your diary entries. Everything is MAJOR when you’re 13, isn’t it? Very dramatic stuff…

    • The Time Traveler’s Wife is on my TBR list – I’ve gotta see what all the hype is about 🙂

      I’m also creeped out by books like Twilight where the vampire is supposed to be like 100 years old, but he’s dating a teenager. Maybe a score for him, but come on, teenage girl, you’re dating an old man!

  2. I love 13 Going on 30! And I love sneaking peeks into old diaries when the fancy strikes me, it always makes me marvel at how silly and dramatic and intense I was! I miss that kind of enthusiasm, but am also so relieved to be rid of (some of) that silliness! 🙂

    • I’m always surprised at how intense I sounded at 13 (of course it’s completely over-the-top ridiculous intensity) – I don’t remember being that way at all. I want to think I was o’ so cool as a teen, but no…hah

  3. “Big” definitely scared me as a kid. I think it was more melancholy about the whole transformation, and there was something very creepy about the Tom Hanks-Elizabeth Perkins dynamic.

    I love your old-school musings.

Leave a Reply

