Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

November reading reflections, Part I

1 Comment

So I’m doing things a little differently, since I had a bazillion or so books on my reading list this month.  The first of my reading reflections goes up today and the rest will go up next Monday, mostly because I plan to spend the holiday break reading.  And eating.  There will definitely be a lot of eating.

Dramarama by E. Lockhart

Yes, I know I rambled about drama kids yesterday, but bear with me as I do it again since this book is about friends at a summer drama camp.   

The descriptions of personality made me nod (we’ve all known a glommy Candie in our lives), many parts made me laugh (the human trees in A Midsummer Night’s Dream), some made my stomach hurt (when the director tells Sadye to lip-sync), and the end made me melancholy, although it didn’t upset me because it was the natural, inevitable evolution of high school life and friendship.  It felt natural and real, just like the characters did. 

If you were one of those people marching to your own beat in high school, check this book out.  And if you’re a straight-shooter who eats breakfast in a suit and tie, I admire you, but take a break and put on fuzzy slippers and enjoy this fun and funny (and sometimes touching) romp of a book.

^Wow, did I actually just use the word “romp?”  I feel lame.

Born on a Blue Day by Daniel Tammet

I put this book on my TBR list after hearing about it at the end of the “Brainman” documentary about Tammet.  He has Asperger’s syndrome (a form of autism) and synesthesia (click on the link for more info, I do a poor job of explaining), which means he doesn’t view the world like most people, in static shapes and colors.  When he memorized and recited 22,500 digits of pi, he was able to do so because the numbers were like a landscape in his head. 

Reading about the way he views the world was fascinating, but the thing I liked most is that this book is so hopeful.  Tammet needs his routine, but he’s found ways to adapt so he doesn’t miss out on anything – he’s traveled the world, started his own business, written books…

Definitely an interesting read.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Exactly the kind of book I love – YA contemporary.  Well developed story and characters and…wow…the anticipation as I waited for the kiss.  The main character’s friend, Kristy – I loved her.  Everyone needs a friend like that.  And Bert, too.  Gah, I just loved all of the Wish crew.  And of course I hated Jason with his stick up his ass.  If that’s what perfect guys are like, bleck, I will take my wonderfully unperfect husband any day.

###

This is getting long, so just a few more scattered thoughts.

Hex Hall was hilarious (but I figured out who the bad person was right away, I am straight up genius).

Dear Maureen Johnson, I need more Scarlett because you left me hanging at the end of Scarlett Fever.  Also, I love Scarlett’s disgruntled, mean little sister.  I have no idea why, probably because she’s mean.

And…

That’s it for now – when I finish paying work this evening, I am shutting off my computer and going into a food/reading (maybe even writing) coma until Monday.

See ya then!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

One thought on “November reading reflections, Part I

  1. Ooooh thanks for mentioning these. Dramarama and The Truth About Forever sound really good, I’ll definitely give them a try!

Leave a Reply

