Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ode to drama club

2 Comments

I went to a high school one-act festival this weekend at my (sort-of) alma mater, which of course brought back happy memories of my own time in drama club.  Although there were several things that were different from my own days:

  1. It has nothing to do with drama, but I’m just psyched – the football team was down on the field, winning their afternoon playoff game.  When I was in hs, the team was abysmally bad. 
  2. My high school is in a different, newish building, so it doesn’t really feel like *my* high school.  That’s why I said “sort-of” alma mater.
  3. The seats in the auditorium are padded, so it’s odd to be comfortable while watching a show.
  4. The stage is wired with mics.  When I did drama, the actual acting was secondary to the amount of shouting we had to do to make sure people in the back could hear us.

I only saw a few of the plays, because I got there late, but my younger bro was there most of the day, and the play I liked the most was one of his favs, too.  The actors were talented and funny and had great timing, but I think what really shone through (for me, at least) was that they looked like they were having fun up there.  And really, isn’t that what it’s all about? 

Yeah, you need to learn your lines and blocking and all that other stuff, but hanging out backstage during practice and running around like crazy between scenes and then having a huge party afterward…

Those are the things that stick with me, not who forgot what line or cue, or how many people were (or were not) in the audience. 

*raises glass*

So here’s to you, creative, energetic, and spectacular drama kids.  You’re sometimes loud and shrill and you’ve been known to randomly burst into song, but I love you all the more for it.  Never let anyone tell you that you need a “real” job to be happy or that dancing to the beat of a different drum is bad.  You are AWESOME just the way you are!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

2 thoughts on “Ode to drama club

  1. What a great post. I have fond memories of my time in the drama club in middle school, but I went a different direction in high school. I did the sports thing instead.) I miss all the things you were talking about, though, the goofing around in rehearsals and the ‘wrap’ parties. I’m hoping the success of ‘Glee’ is bringing some much-needed respect for the drama kids these days 🙂

  2. I was too klutzy to play sports 🙂 I think with any kind of team thing, it’s always more about the “togetherness” than anything else. My older bro was part of the academic team when he was in high school and I have no clue who was good or bad, but I do remember hanging out with the smart kids and having a blast.

Leave a Reply

