Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

The Importance of Being Nice

Leave a comment

Nov 21, 2006

I have been running errands most of the day – I sometimes wonder if I’m the only one who finds running errands terribly satisfying – and just now decided to check email, etc…

Lo and behold: an email response from <author>

She is a writer who has written several short stories that I really liked and I sent her an email awhile back, letting her know how much I enjoyed reading her stories.  And she emailed back today, apologizing for how long it’s taken her to get back to me and thanking me for the email.  Also, she has a new short story coming out next month!

Wow, that email seriously just made my day (even more than my trip to the recycling center and I LOVE going to the recycling center b/c I am a huge dork).

^I removed the name because I don’t want to sound crazy stalker-ish.  I was just extra excited because this was the first time I’d ever emailed an author to say, “Wow, good job.”  But I HAD TO email because one of her short stories struck such a major chord with me.

If (I mean, when) I ever publish a book and someone emails me to tell me “good job,” I will seriously probably cry.

And if someone emails to tell me I suck…well, let’s hope that the years I spent as a directory assistance operator, being called some of the most bizarre names in the book, has prepared me to ignore those nasty comments.

Sticks and stones and breaking bones and such.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

