Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

30 years of news

Leave a comment

Well, not really, but I just read about Strawberry Shortcake celebrating 30 years.  I’m sure if I dug deep enough in my parents’ basement, I’d find my pint-size doll from the 80’s and the blasted thing would STILL smell.  A friend and I once pondered what the hell those things were made of.  The same with scratch n’ sniff stickers from the 80’s – I bumbled across one while moving the other month and lo and behold…fruity!

 Anyway…to the writing world!

Agent Mary Kole answers the question:  Is Contemp YA a Difficult Market?

Dystel and Goderich Lit is trying out a blog chat next Thursday, the 18th at 3pm EST 

Contests:

Michelle Hodkin is giving away a copy of Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Amanda Hannah is giving away a *your choice*but be prepared to get poetic

Congrats to me:

I won The Fortune of Carmen Navarro by Jen Bryant from Adventures in Children’s Publishing!  I can’t wait to read it…so my type of story with the opposites attracting and all that goodness.

And finally, my waffly decision:

I just started a Twitter account!  There are so many writers, agents, and other cool peoples (yes, I purposely made this plural) on there, that I think I can really get into it.

Now I raise my white flag to Twitter because I have finally been lured.

I still remember the first time I heard of the site, several years ago.  One of my classmates mentioned to me he’d been Twittering the night before and several thoughts went through my head:

A. He had been laughing
B. He had been literally making a twittering noise, like a bird
C. This was some sort of bizarre come-on
D. He was nuts

Even after he explained to me what it was and I checked out his page, I still asked, “Why?”

Then my work (a newspaper) sent out an email:

“We’re on Twitter!”

And again I asked “Why?”

But I also felt pretty damn cool when I was able to explain what it was to several of my co-workers, like I was oh-so-in-the-know.

 I’m usually late to the party, so no surprise it took me all these years to go:

 “Oh, I get it (sort of)!”

 So I’m going to try it out. 

And if I don’t like it, then no biggie.  And if I love it, then awesome.  Yay, new things!

Now off I go to feel weird, like I’m stalking people during my mass “follow this person” exodus. 

Good times.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

