Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Dear Stubborn, Younger Me

Leave a comment

I don’t have a Twitter account, but I hear things, and last week there was that hash tag floating around about what you would say to your 16-year-old self and I’ve been thinking about that.

I shouldn’t really tell my 16-year-old self anything, because my teenage self would rebel against my adult self and be all, “Don’t tell me what to do!”

So I’ll just write her a nice, little note and slip it into my pocket and feel content with the fact I made an *attempt* to reach her.

Note to self:

Hey, stubborn teenage me, here’s a tip:

When Boy #1 (the one you’re hopelessly in like with) invites you to go out with him, his girlfriend and Boy #2 that you’ve never met and have no desire to meet, and you secretly think #1 is trying to be cruel, he probably is.

But don’t be mad at him, instead thank him, because when Boy #2 sprinkles pepper in girlfriend’s soda when she’s not looking, in an attempt to make you laugh, that’s the beginning of something special, even if you don’t realize it that night.

So remember that.  Boy who makes you cry = not worth it.  Boy who makes you laugh = the guy you end up marrying.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

