Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Reading’s where it’s at…

Leave a comment

…so a wise feline once told me.

I’ve got a random collection of goodness this week, mostly things that made me happy:

Has anyone else ever heard of The First Line?  I can’t remember how I first stumbled across this website, but I thought it was an awesome idea.  I even vaguely remember the first line/story I started.  Of course, I think my story is still sitting there with maybe two paragraphs done, but that’s neither here nor there.

I’ve made many attempts with the first line, but I’m so long-winded, I never manage to edit down in time.  BUT, I’ve come up with some good ideas during those drafts, so well worth it.

I loved this post on Writer Unboxed about the butcher, the baker and the candlestick maker – I’m mostly a candlestick maker, although I’ve got butcher tendencies (usually I just chop and stick the text in another document, in case I need it later). 

Hmm…without context, I sound very silly talking about being a candlestick maker and a butcher.

Jessica at BookEnds lets us know that agents like to deliver happy news.

Kidlit (Mary Kole) has a great opportunity for writers looking for a critique partner to connect.

The Questions and Quandaries blog answers the question: Is it okay to use famous names and proper nouns in fiction?

(it’s usually okay)

Good answer, since the love interest of one of my MCs is obsessed with the Orioles.  I do nothing but gush on them, though.  Go O’s!

The list of the agents that will be at the Writer’s Digest Conference in January has been released.  Since I can’t make it to the conference, I will have to make-believe pitch. 

“Hello, sir or madam, I am here to tell you about my 800,000 word book, which will be the next Harry Potter meets Dracula meets Catcher in the Rye meets The Sun Also Rises.  My next door neighbor’s cousin’s dentist’s grandma read it and said it was brilliant and it should be a movie.  I agree.  I can even star in it.  Can I get my trillion dollar signing bonus now?”

*sound of door slamming in my face*

Now for a message from Captain O.G. Readmore, a reading kind of cat (plus, double-rainbow bonus of Billy Dee Williams AND the mention of Cougar, which I’m not ashamed to admit I own):

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

