Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

N is for Non-Fiction. Plus, I take part in NaNoReaMo.

2 Comments

So here’s what’s on my TBR non-fic list to tackle this month (I have a broad range of interests, as you can see):

  • Born on a Blue Day by Daniel Tammet 
  • Unseen Danger: A Tragedy of People, Government, and the Centralia Mine Fire by David DeKok
  • Salvation on Sand Mountain: Snake Handling and Redemption in Southern Appalachia by Dennis Covington
  • Tokyo Vice: An American Reporter on the Police Beat in Japan by Jake Adelstein
  • Stephen King – on Writing (I used to own this book, no idea what happened to it, think it got lost in the move before last)

 /end non-fic

Since The Deathly Hallows Part 1 comes out in theaters this month, I am going to try to start on the collection of JK Rowling short stories one of my friends sent me months ago that I’ve been itching to read.

For Contemps, need to read:

  • Freefall by Mindi Scott
  • The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney

PLUS…

Remember I was all “Should I do NaNoWriMo” and I was being all wishy-washy?

Well, I thought about following the creed of author, John Green, who brings up the idea of NaFADOYBIMSCOM (“National Finish a Draft of Your Book, I Mean Seriously, Come On, Month”).  In the same video, he teaches a lesson about lemmings.

But instead I’ve discovered NaNoReaMo, which is something that YA writer Natalie Whipple has come up with where instead of writing a novel in a month, we read a ton of books instead – here’s her list, although I need to make some amends because a few of the books are parts of series I haven’t read (and I couldn’t find one of the books at any of my four local libraries, so it’s out…boo).  So here’s what I’ve got for me:

  1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (this trilogy has been on my TBR list for awhile)
  2. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  3. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  4. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
  5. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
  6. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
  7. Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson
  8. Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson
  9. Dramarama by E. Lockhart
  10. Wake by Lisa McMann (this series looks cool, so I’m tackling ‘em all)
  11. Fade by Lisa McMann
  12. Gone by Lisa McMann

Okay, so if I somehow manage to read everything on this list, either I’m not sleeping, I’ve got several clones or, move over He-Man, I am the Master of the freaking Universe.

PLUS, on top of all this, I’ve got a goal of writing 10,000 words each week on my current WIP AND I still have my paying job to contend with.

I’m She-Ra.  Seriously.  Why is it I get so much more done when the pressure (even self-imposed) is on?

Enough ramble…

Because one of the books is named after a band, I leave you with this song I love:

Deep breath…let the marathon of reading/writing/working/being She-Ra begin!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

2 thoughts on “N is for Non-Fiction. Plus, I take part in NaNoReaMo.

  1. Heh, I love the idea of NaFADOYBIMSCOM. When I finish NaNoRevMo, maybe I’ll pick up with that.

    Good luck with that incredible reading list, She-Ra!

  2. Thanks! I need all the luck I can get – I still have a book and a half left to read for October, so I’m already behind…eek

Leave a Reply

