Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

In the beginning…some stuff happened

Leave a comment

Writer Unboxed had a good post on the yes or no of prologues.  I tend to write contemporary fiction, so not a lot of room for the unfolding of epic events before the story.  When I’m reading, prologues don’t really bother me, unless they’re really long.  Then I start wondering when the interesting stuff is going to start happening.  But a short one, just enough to pique my interest…that’s good stuff.

^I wish I had an example of a zingy prologue, but it’s been 70 degrees on the east coast the past few days, the weather and my brain are confused.

Can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this yet or not so I’ll mention it again: Writer’s Digest Writing Conference in NYC Jan 21-23, 2011

7th “Dear Lucky Agent Contest” – YA Books (through Nov 3)

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

