Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

October reading reflections

4 Comments

I’m a self-proclaimed “will read anything” type of person, but of course there are genres I prefer more than others. 

I usually don’t read a lot of sci-fi because I end up confused and/or freaked out.  Romance novels – have never gotten into them.  Same with historical fiction.

BUT…

I just finished a children’s book that took place in January 1888 in the prairies of Nebraska and I enjoyed it!  It’s called Anna’s Blizzard, written by Alison Hart, and the 11-year-old main character is resourceful and brave and thoughtful.   I venture to call her plucky. 

And the story was exciting – a rattlesnake, a snowy beast at the door, John Jacob lost in the snow!

I was reading it yesterday when I was waiting outside my brother’s school to pick him up and when he got in the car, I was all, “Um yeah, I need to finish reading this chapter before we go.”

So yay historical fiction!

I also read Girl, Stolen by April Henry this month and enjoyed it, although there were some parts that came across as technical manual to me, especially when Cheyenne was explaining the challenges and ins/outs of her blindness.  Maybe if I didn’t know anyone blind it would all be new and exciting, but…

Definitely an interesting premise.

The latest Bones book left me confused – the actual case seemed to slip onto the backburner to make room for other, not as relevant, things.  So when it was picked up again, I kept forgetting who was who.  I was really disappointed by this since the doc was working with JPAC and I thought there’d be more info about what went into the search and recovery of missing POW/MIAs.

I read a ton of other books, but I’m supposed to be working, so my reviews will have to remain in my head for now.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

4 thoughts on “October reading reflections

  1. Thank you Jennifer for the great words about Anna’s Blizzard! I, too, love historical fiction. If you want to read/review another of my books I’d love to send you one–your choice. You can find me at http://www.alisonhartbooks.com.
    Keep reading!

  2. Oh, and I see you’re reading Fires of Jubilee!

  3. Hey Alison, I’ll probably be in touch. Right now I’m in the process of wiping out your books from my local libraries 🙂 I’m trying to figure out which ones I haven’t read yet

  4. I hope wiping out doesn’t involve fire. I’ll send you any to read that you can’t find!

Leave a Reply

