Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I’m being chased by high school

Leave a comment

Last week I saw the following:

Mark Wahlberg in talks for ‘The Crow’ remake

That movie was IT for my circle of friends when it came out in 1994.  Many of them watched it religiously and then started wearing similar make-up, prompting the (not so friendly) nickname of “Crows” (this was in addition to “freaks” because guys wearing eyeliner in rural Virginia = no no).  That name stuck all the way through high school and I won’t even go into a rant about the “if you didn’t dress like that” bs that certain members of admin gave to my friends whenever there was a scuffle. 

So there’s that.

Then I heard that Soundgarden was going to be on the first episode of Conan’s new TBS show on Nov. 9.  Oh how I loved to watch Conan way back when.  His late night show debuted the first month I started high school and I thought he was hilarious – young and different.  Quirkiness =  ❤

And did I mention yet that I actually remember where I was when I heard that Soundgarden had broken up?  That seems creepy, but I loved me some S’garden, too.  I loved grunge, in general.  Fashion trends that allow me to wear what I was going to wear anyway are awesome. 

Finally, it comes down to my senior song.  There were a few candidates, most notably “Don’t Dream It’s Over,” by Crowded House. 

-Disclaimer here: Yes, there were some jerks at my high school and yes, admin could have been better, but overall there were some really cool people there – it was 1997 and a kick-ass pop/rock song from the 1980’s was a contender for class song.  That’s good stuff.

Also in the running was “1979” by the Smashing Pumpkins, because a lot of us were born in 1979.  It was quickly voted down by those born in 1978 and 1980.

I hadn’t really thought about any of this, until I saw this literal version of 1979:

What an odd video to literalize, but it brought up happy memories of high school, so it works for me.

So you know a few of the losing songs.  What song actually won? 

Here it is, if you can believe it:

Yes, we were the rebellious sort.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

