Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Write that book!

Leave a comment

So I see NaNoWriMo is nearly upon us again – I’ve never participated in this, although I’ve heard good things about it.

I’ve just discovered that about a trillion people in my Valley seem to be part of it, so it seems like a good opportunity to reach out and find some fellow writers.  But I’m so shady when I write – I’m the covert op, sitting up at 2am, wrapped in a blanket, typing frantically on my laptop.  The only time I’ve really written around other people was in the computer lab in high school (holla to the old IBMs), when I was working on my “first” novel.  I think one time I cried over an emotional part.  I’m sure my classmates thought I was a basket case. 

This would be so far out of my comfort zone that I’m afraid I’ll be all reticent about the whole thing…

Gah, should I or shouldn’t I? 

But enough about me, here are some chances to win some stuff!

Adventures in Children’s Publishing hasThe Curse of the Wendigo (The Monstrumologist) by Rick Yancey up for grabs

and

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s sci-fi book CassaStar came out this week and he is having a virtual blog tour, complete with contest.

Other stuff:

QueryTracker has a 24-hour contest next week for children’s lit – pitch + first 100 words…more details here.

Finally, some advice from YA Highway about back-story blunders.  Good for all and timely for me because I am slogging through a 400 page mess of a first draft.  I made up the back-story and I’m still confused…think that’s a sign I need to edit.

**Edit(darn RSS feeds that only update when they feel like it!):**

Forever YA has a copy of “Mostly Good Girls” by Leila Sales to give away.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

