Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Motivation, schmotivation

Leave a comment

One of my friends from high school was talking about “Wish” by the Cure the other week, how she’s still convinced the songs all correlate to astrological signs.  I’d never heard this before, so I dug out my copy of the album and listened to it in all its 20-year-old cassette tape glory.

She said it starts with “Open” as Aries.  I’m a Capricorn, so my song is “Cut.”  I am now convinced there is some deep, philosophical meaning to all this.

It’s kind of like when my college creative writing professor asked me what the motivation behind one of my characters was.

I responded with, “Huh?”

To this day, I now assume there is a hidden motivation to everything. Thanks, professor.

Although that bit of advice I brushed off all those years ago has come in quite handy.  People usually don’t do things without a reason.  It may not be conscious, but the reasoning is in there somewhere.  So I keep that in mind when I’m writing.

This time, without the sarcasm: Thanks, professor!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

