Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

It Gets Better

1 Comment

National Coming Out Day was on Monday, but I didn’t have a blog post on that day, so I wanted to address this topic today.

What I’m going to say seems like common sense – don’t be a jerk.

But there are still a ton of jerks out there that use sexual orientation as a reason to discriminate.

People come in all shapes and sizes and some of those people are gay.  Some are straight.  That’s just the way it is.

“Gay” should not be a four-letter word, but those jerks that I mentioned above…they’re the ones who’ve made the word into something it’s not, the ones who try to make it into something dirty.

Take away their power by speaking out against discrimination. 

Accept people for who they are.

There’s a YouTube channel to let LGBT teens know that “it gets better.” 

http://www.youtube.com/user/itgetsbetterproject

I’m not sure if these two videos are on the channel, I saw them elsewhere:

Brian Gallivan aka Sassy Gay Friend mentions YA books!

And Fort Worth City Councilman Joel Burns made me cry:

I don’t mean to go all after school special here (and show my age in the process by using that phrase), but I hope these videos speak to all teens who are being bullied – it gets better!  Bullies are miserable, self-loathing people.  They’re so unhappy with themselves, they project that hatred onto others.  Which means THEY are the ones with the problem, not you.  And no matter how many bullies there are in the world, remember that there are always those people out there that are willing to stand up for you.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

One thought on “It Gets Better

  1. “Which means THEY are the ones with the problem, not you” – well said

Leave a Reply

