Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Eggbornsville, here we come!

Leave a comment

Well, not really, I probably couldn’t find it again, but the other week I was on the Contemps website, reading an entry about high school/driving and I posted this comment:

I was the Wheels of my friends.  We used to have a “Girls’ Night Out” every Friday.  Usually four of us, but sometimes we’d see people we knew and everyone would cram inside the car, sitting on laps (so safe, I know…)

Once, a friend and I opened a map in the school library, closed our eyes and pointed to a place we should go.  So off we went. 

After driving aimlessly up and down the road where the town was supposed to be, we finally stopped and asked for directions.  Turns out our map was way old, the town didn’t even exist anymore.  We bought candy at the store and took pics, posing by hay bales.*

Still one of the best road trips ever.

*I fixed the typo I made on the original of bail/bale

I went digging around old journals and discovered I had written about this trip.  From the mouth of my 18-year-old self, a history lesson:

February 25, 1997:

Okay.  On Friday, Eggbornsville! 

It wasn’t even a town.  It was a road w/ two stores.  The Eggborns are this old family that have been around since the Civil War or something.  Pretty lame. 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

