Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

The “This Cannot Turn Out Well” List

Leave a comment

I’m a cowering little wimp when it comes to scary books and movies, so of course it’s a genius idea for me to come up with a list of scary/scaryish books to read for October:

Gil’s All Fright Diner by A. Lee Martinez (if you will recall, my post on this book, spurred by a local news story)

Coraline by Neil Gaiman*

Jaws by Peter Benchley (can you believe I’ve never read this???)*

Beastly by Alex Flinn (witch + beast = scary)**

For the Contemps Challenge, October releases are:

Freefall by Mindi Scott

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney

Plus I’ve got September’s three releases to be read (I’ve got 2 in my hands, waiting for the 3rd):

The Duff by Kody Keplinger

Losing Faith by Denise Jaden

Girl, Stolen by April Henry

Also, I need to read “Worth Dying For” by Lee Child because he left me hanging with his last book.  And Kathy Reichs has a new book, “Spider Bones” (spiders and bones, those are both scary).  Reichs will be at the Virginia Festival of the Book in March.  Yay, random plug.

If I read all those, it’s a TBR free-for-all.

*Score because after I read the books, I can watch the movies!  Coraline for the first time, Jaws for like the millionth time **Beastly will be in theaters in March

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

