Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Fictional high school catfights

Leave a comment

I sometimes participate in Road Trip Wednesday (RTW), which takes place over at YA Highway.

The other week, this was the question:

If you went to high school with your characters, would you be friends?

I’m enamored by this question.  And since I was rambling about something else when this question was asked, I decided to answer it on my own time.

Claire – heck yes.  Most people dislike her because she’s cold and distant, but it doesn’t bother me one bit.  She minds her own business, is smart, and gets things done.  A-ok in my book.  Although I kinda want to date her boyfriend and she’d kinda rip my head off if I tried.  But I’d give her a run for her money.  Maybe.

Cobb (different WIP) – I would attach myself to his side and never let go, although it would irritate the hell out of him.  He’s very no nonsense and blunt and I appreciate that honesty.  I also like that he reads and has tons of tattoos and can lift large objects without effort.  He’s the epitome of awesome.  But we’re just friends. 

Janey – Sorry, Janey, you’re too impulsive and jealous for my taste.  You’d see me talking to Cobb and get all bent out of shape and cause a scene.  And that would really get on my nerves.  Cobb’s, too.  He dumped you, remember?   

But enough with the high school squabbling…it’s October, one of my favorite months of the year!  Cooler weather, leaves changing, all kinds of fall goodness.  I’m going to TWO library book sales this weekend.  TWO! 

How can I resist this lure of the one tomorrow: “Fill a paper bag for $2.”

I’ll post some pics of my spoils on Monday!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

